DATA INTELLIGENCE HUB - For business customers

LIFE IS FOR SHARING.

Data Quantity versus Data Quality?

Any prudent investor will carefully weigh investment options. In data science, data is an important ingredient and any prudent data scientist would have to decide on data. So, we asked leading data scientists: How do you spend the next US$1, on more data (quantity) or better data (quality)? 

The response is crystal clear: Quality beats quantity. So far, so good. However, if we drill deeper, if we want to find out, how this result translates into practice, then suddenly, all clarity is lost. True to Peter Drucker’s idiom of “you cannot manage what you can’t measure” the next question is: How to measure data quantity and how to measure data quality. Again, we asked those same data experts. 

This time, clarity is lost. In fact, results confirm the mystery of measuring data quality.  

Why Data Quality Matters 

The data science community confirms the old adage of “garbage in, garbage out” (GIGO): “Dirty data” is seen as the most common problem for workers in data science according to a survey with 16,000 responses on Kaggle (Kaggle 2017). With data analytics, all insights are extracted from inside the data. Therefore, it is imperative to ensure that any raw data used has the information required for insights into it. One analogy is iron ore: For iron one would need rocks so rich with iron oxides that metallic iron can be extracted. Without iron oxide, in it, a rock would simply be a rock, not iron ore. 

Yet, despite the importance of data quality, very little progress has been made to operationalize this insight. The literature is using concepts, such as the “3 Vs” of volume, velocity and variety (McAfee & Brynjolfsson 2012); and more Vs are being added, like variability and value (e.g., Yin & Kaynak 2015). However, from an operational perspective, from an analytics application point of view, the Vs have remained conceptual and qualitative. The Vs may be useful for a first assessment, maybe for a pre-test, a first triage type data selection. However, in order to gauge outcomes in terms of performance, to estimate the likelihood of effects (x improves y), the size of effects (x improves y by a lot) and significance (improvements are real, not random), the Vs have too little information in them. 

Quality Scoring Solution 

Quality scoring could make data quality manageable (Crosby & Schlueter Langdon 2019, Schlueter Langdon & Sikora 2019). It would help both data scientists and management make better investment decisions on data. Quality scoring is even a well-established business – but not yet with data. As consumers, most of us are probably familiar with Consumer Reports in the US (“Stiftung Warentest” in Germany), which is testing and rating consumer products; car buyers are likely checking J.D. Power’s quality scores from the vendor’s Initial Quality Study (IQS, problems after 3 months) and Vehicle Dependability Study (VDS, problems after 3 years); home buyers are worried about credit scores (FICO in the US, SCHUFA in Germany) and familiar with credit scoring agencies, such as Equifax; and finally, bond investors watch ratings of creditworthiness of corporate bonds ratings from specialists, like Moody’s (Aa1) and Standard & Poor’s (AA+). 

References

DATA INTELLIGENCE HUB - Für Geschäftskunden

ERLEBEN, WAS VERBINDET.

Daten: Quantität oder Qualität?

Jeder umsichtige Investor wägt Investitionen sorgfältig ab. In der Datenwissenschaft sind Daten ein wichtiger Bestandteil, und jeder umsichtige Datenwissenschaftler muss bei Daten eine Entscheidung treffen. Wir haben führende Datenexperten gefragt: Wie geben Sie den nächsten US-Dollar aus: Für mehr Daten (Quantität) oder für bessere Daten (Qualität)? 


Abbildung 1: Daten Quantität oder Qualität? 

Die Antwort ist glasklar: Qualität schlägt Quantität. So weit, so gut. Wenn wir jedoch tiefer graben und herausfinden möchten, wie sich dieses Ergebnis in die Praxis umsetzen lässt, geht plötzlich jegliche Klarheit verloren. Getreu dem Motto von Peter Drucker „Was man nicht messen kann, kann man nicht managen., lautet die nächste Frage: Wie misst man die Datenmenge und wie misst man die Datenqualität? Auch hier haben wir dieselben Datenexperten befragt. 


Abbildung 2: Wie wird Datenqualität gemessen?

Diesmal geht Klarheit verloren. In der Tat bestätigen die Ergebnisse das Geheimnis der Messung der Datenqualität.

Warum Datenqualität wichtig ist

Die Community der Datenwissenschafter bestätigt das alte Sprichwort von „Garbage In, Garbage Out; Müll rein, Müll raus“ (GIGO): „Dirty Data“ wird laut einer Umfrage mit 16.000 Antworten als das häufigste Problem für Arbeitnehmer in der Datenwissenschaft angesehen (Kaggle 2017). Bei der Datenanalyse werden alle Erkenntnisse aus den Daten extrahiert. Es ist daher unbedingt notwendig sicherzustellen, dass alle verwendeten Rohdaten die Informationen enthalten, die für die Einsicht erforderlich sind. Eine Analogie ist Eisenerz: Für Eisen braucht man Gesteine, die so reich an Eisenoxiden sind, dass metallisches Eisen gewonnen werden kann. Ohne Eisenoxid wäre ein Gestein einfach ein Gestein, kein Eisenerz.  

Trotz der Bedeutung der Datenqualität wurden kaum Fortschritte bei der Operationalisierung dieser Erkenntnisse erzielt. In der Literatur werden Konzepte wie die „3 Vs“ von Volumen (Volume), Geschwindigkeit (Velocity) und Vielfalt (Variety) verwendet (McAfee & Brynjolfsson 2012). Weitere Vs werden hinzugefügt, wie Variabilität (Variability) und Wert (Value) (z. B. Yin & Kaynak 2015). Aus operativer Sicht und unter dem Gesichtspunkt der analytischen Anwendung sind die Vs jedoch konzeptionell und qualitativ geblieben. Die Vs können vielleicht für eine erste Beurteilung, möglicherweise für einen Vortest, wie eine erste Auswahl von Triage-Typ-Daten, nützlich sein. Um jedoch die Ergebnisse in Bezug auf die Leistung einzuschätzen, die Wahrscheinlichkeit von Effekten (x verbessert y), die Größe von Effekten (x verbessert y um ein Vielfaches) und die Signifikanz (Verbesserungen sind real, nicht zufällig) abzuschätzen, enthalten die Vs zu wenige Informationen. 

Quality Scoring-Lösung

Quality Scoring könnte Qualität überschaubarer machen (Crosby & Schlueter Langdon 2019, Schlueter Langdon & Sikora 2019). Es würde Datenwissenschaftler und Management helfen bessere Investitionsentscheidungen treffen. Quality Scoring ist sogar bereits ein etabliertes Geschäft – aber noch nicht mit Daten. Als Verbraucher sind die meisten von uns wahrscheinlich mit Verbraucherberichten (USA) („Stiftung Warentest“ in Deutschland) vertraut, in denen Verbraucherprodukte getestet und bewertet werden. Autokäufer prüfen vermutlich die Qualitätsbewertungen von J.D. Power aus der anfänglichen Qualitätsstudie (IQS) und der Fahrzeugzuverlässigkeitsstudie (VDS, Probleme nach 3 Jahren) des Anbieters; Käufer von Eigenheimen sind besorgt über Kredit-Scores (FICO in den USA, SCHUFA in Deutschland) und mit Kredit-Scoring-Agenturen wie Equifax vertraut, wie Moody’s (Aa1) und Standard & Poor’s (AA +). 

Quellen

Crosby, L., and C. Schlueter Langdon. 2019. Data as a Product to be Managed. Marketing News, American Marketing Association (April 24th), link

Kaggle. 2017. The State of Data Science & Machine Learning, link

McAffee, A., and E. Brynjolfsson. 2012. Big Data: The Management Revolution. Harvard Business Review (October): 60-68

Schlueter Langdon, C., and R. Sikora. 2019. Creating Data Factories for Data Products. Proceedings of 18th Workshop on E-Business, ICIS Munich, Germany

Yin, S., and O. Kaynak. 2015. Big Data for Modern Industry: Challenges and Trends. Proceedings of IEEE 103(2): 143-146