DATA INTELLIGENCE HUB - For business customers

LIFE IS FOR SHARING.

Treat data like cars

Europe is proclaiming the arrival of a data-centric world, yet its business community remains hesitant. What’s going wrong? Instead of European companies, hyperscalers from the US and China are driving innovation in the cloud (Clemons et al. 2019). At the 2019 Digital Gipfel, her excellence German Chancellor Merkel is urging German companies to catch up: “We are behind schedule […] Substantial financial resources must be invested to [catch up …]. If we let this element of value creation be taken out of our hands, then it will be a rude awakening for Germany as an industrial country” (Merkel 2019, at 10:35 and 13:17, link). 

How to kickstart data-centricity in business? How to flip the switch? One trick would be to treat it as “business-as-usual.” Don’t treat data as an alien, instead of handling it as a traditional product like cars for example – and Germany is excellent at cars. Apply tried-and-true management solutions and best practice to win with data.  A first step would be “Product Management,” assign a true product manager for data. 

This is an insight shared by Crosby & Schlueter Langdon in a brief summary for the American Marketing Association (link): “Managers who are conceptualizing data as a product can maximize its multi-functional potential” (2019). The authors summarize their observations as data scientists and business executives working with a wide range of companies and in high-profile studies, such as “The Wall Street Journal Management Top 250” (2018) 

References

Clemons, E.K., H. Krcmar, S. Hermes, and J. Choi. 2019. American Domination of the Net: A Preliminary Ethnographic Exploration of Causes, Economic Implications for Europe, and Future Prospects. 52nd Hawaii International Conference on System Sciences (HICSS), DOI: 10.24251/HICSS.2019.737
Crosby, L., and C. Schlueter Langdon. 2019. Data is a Product. American Marketing Association, Marketing News (April), link
Merkel, A. 2019. Speech at Digital Gipfel (November 29th), link
The Wall Street Journal2019Management Top 250 (November 30th), link

DATA INTELLIGENCE HUB - Für Geschäftskunden

Erleben, was verbindet.

Behandelt Daten wie ein Produkt – Erfolg braucht Produkt Management

Europa kündigt die Ankunft einer datenzentrierten Welt an, doch die Geschäftswelt bleibt zögerlich. Was läuft falsch? Anstelle europäischer Unternehmen treiben Hyperskalierer aus den USA und China Innovationen in der Cloud voran (Clemons et al. 2019). Auf dem Digitalgipfel 2019 appelliert Bundeskanzlerin Merkel an die deutschen Unternehmen, aufzuholen: „Wir liegen hinter dem Zeitplan zurück. Wenn wir dieses Element der Wertschöpfung aus unseren Händen geben, dann wird das ein böses Erwachen für Deutschland als Industrieland geben. “(Merkel 2019, https://youtu.be/DYlxCYYMBxI?t=635, 13:17).

Wie kann man die Datenzentrierung im Geschäft ankurbeln? Wie kann man den Schalter umlegen? Ein Trick wäre es, es als „business as usual“ zu behandeln. Man sollte Daten nicht als Aliens, sondern als traditionelles Produkt wie beispielsweise Autos, behandeln – und Deutschland ist hervorragend mit Autos. Das Rad muss nicht neu erfunden werden, stattdessen können bewährte Managementlösungen und -methoden angewendet werden, um mit Daten zu gewinnen. Ein erster solcher Schritt wäre „Produkt Management“, d.h. das Einsetzen eines Produkt Managers für Daten.

Diese Erkenntnis teilen Crosby & Schlueter Langdon in einer Zusammenfassung für die American Marketing Association: „Manager, die Daten als Produkt konzipieren, können ihr multifunktionales Potenzial maximieren“ (2019). Die Einschätzung der Autoren basiert auf ihrer jahrzehntelangen Erfahrung als Datenanalysten mit führenden Unternehmen und bei einflussreichen Studien wie dem The Wall Street Journal Management Top 250 (2018):

 

Referenzen