DATA INTELLIGENCE HUB - For business customers

LIFE IS FOR SHARING.

Power shift to data: The auto-less auto company?

This is a sequel to our story on the The service shift” (link). Meta research indicates a pronounced shift of revenue away from the traditional business of making and selling vehicles or hardware to revenue from selling mobility services. The shift is predicted to be big in scale, epic in scope and rapid in speed. So, what does it mean for incumbents (worried about careers, salaries), investors (returns) and policymakers (employment)This article abstracts further to understand the source of power in this service shift. In today’s auto business the vehicle itself is the source of power that lets automakers or original equipment manufacturers, short OEMs, wield control over design, features, technology, timelines, employment, careers and profitability. 

The auto-less auto company 

The key conduit of change is China’s regulated switch from internal combustion engine (ICE) powered automobiles to new energy vehicles (NEVunit sales target of 25% by 2025 according to China’s Ministry of Industry and Information Technology, MIIT). China has become the world’s biggest auto market, and NEV regulation has triggered a shift of new products away from ICE powertrains to battery electric vehicles (BEV). An avalanche of BEVs is in the pipeline: The number of electric vehicle models available to European buyers will jump from fewer than 100 to 175 by the end of 2020, according to data firm IHS Markit. By 2025 there will be more than 330” (Jolly 2019, also Riley 2019). 

The problem for traditional automakers is not that factories and supply chains have to be retooled, or that it takes software developers instead of mechanical engineers. The problem is that the vehicle itself will no longer be the source of power in the industry: no matter if it is connected, autonomized, shared and electrified … or if it comes in Biancoeldorado-white or truffle-mica-gray… or with predicted music or personalized micro-climate zones. The vehicle will no longer be a source of power. Why? For one: If newcomers such as Chinese automakers are gearing up to build electric vehicles faster than foreigners, and if a startup, such as Tesla, can outsell entrenched luxury leaders like Mercedes-Benz, BMW and Audi (Neil 2018), vehicles can no longer be a barrier to entry and consequently, power is slipping away from them. To reinforce this point: The 2020 CES in Las Vegas saw Sony, a consumer electronics company, present an electric car, and Tier 1 suppliers, like Bosch & Benteler, demonstrate an EV-chassis or EV-skateboard” offered as a white-label platform for others to put a car on it. 

For another: “Apps & Alexa” – or new mobile and voice-operated user interfaces – shift buying habits away from traditional auto-centric marketing & sales to more direct ways of interacting with consumers (Crosby & S. Langdon 2017). These consumer channels are already occupied, even dominated by powerful and cash-rich social media companies like Google (see our course MGT 378 Social Media Analytics, link). Ultimately, history may not repeat itself exactly, but the auto future may follow the path of computing, where power shifted from hardware into the cloud  well foretold in the seminal analysis of “The Computerless Computer Company,” a winner of the annual McKinsey Award for best Harvard Business Review article (Rappaport & Halevi 1991). 


Figure: Auto revenue shift to services and data power

From hardware to data 

Power  and consequently profit  is shifting from the vehicle to data. Stock evaluations already reflect a consensus among investors that data beats auto hardware (see figure). It sounds provocative  particularly and understandably to auto people  but it’s neither magic nor a surprise. It has happened before and, in many areas, not just computingWe have seen it before in numerous content businesses ranging from newspapers to music (Schlueter Langdon & Shaw 2002, 1997). Newspapers felt well protected behind printing presses and last-mile delivery only to be outflanked by data. While paper-based publishers went from top to bottom, data hogs like Google and Facebook arose to dominate advertisingKey to this dominance was not excellence in writing, expertise in story-telling and editorial competence; instead, it was access to user data (with apps, opt-in defaults)knowledge to collect the right data (types, scales, behavioural variables), and the competence to do the right things with it, such as using analytics for descriptive (trend spotting), diagnostics (segmentation) and prescriptive purposes (personalized recommendations). 

Some in automotive did move ahead years ago with the launch of new mobility services. Daimler’s Car2Go pioneered carsharing a decade agoThese services run on data. From marketing (who are my customers, students or tourists?), sales (charge by ride or duration or distance or offer a subscription?), and operations (where to place vehicles, add hubs and chargers?) to maintenance (how to increase vehicle uptime?) – is in the data (for an exemplary decision dashboard, see link)True to its auto roots Daimler launched with its own fleet of vehicles, its iconic Smart car, and initially, it’s Smart cars couldn’t talk to a customer’s smartphone. The next generation of new mobility pioneers, like Uber and Lyftskipped the hardware and launched with data platforms only. 

Understanding data 

Most of us have attended a statistics course in school, but few would volunteer to explain a t-test to others. With data, it is just the opposite: Anybody seems to have an opinion, yet few have had formal training or a class about it. Turns out: Data is a complicated subject. Even the basics have remained fuzzy. For example, how to size it? There is excitement with data monetization, yet how would anybody order data? A kg or pound (lb.) of data, pleaseCurrently, there are several competing metrics to size data (see “Data: How to measure it?” link). Many will argue that quality is more important than quantity; yet, here too, no clear metric has emerged (see “Data: Quantity or quality?” link). From one side, this lack of measurements is hurdle; from another side creating them – setting a standard – could be a source of competitive advantage. Iengineering, German industry clearly benefited from its early DIN (Deutsches Institut für Normungstandards to close quality gaps with British and U.S. competitors and establish itself as a leading competitor (Yates & Murphy 2019).  

This article is based on a longer piece from Langdon at Drucker Customer Lab: link

References 

MIIT. 2017. Parallel Management regulation for corporate average fuel consumption and new energy vehicle credits for passenger cars, link

Neil, D. 2018. Think Electric Vehicles Are Great Now? Just Wait… The Wall Street Journal (2018-12-26) Rappaport, A. S., and S. Halevi. 1991. The Computerless Computer Company. Harvard Business Review (July-August), link

Jolly, J. 2019. 2020 set to be year of the electric car, say industry analysts. The Guardian (December 25th), link

Riley, C. 2019. The Future of Autos: The great electric car race is just beginningBy Charles Riley, CNN Business (August), link

Schlueter Langdon, C., and M.J. Shaw. 2002. Emergent Patterns of Integration in Electronic Channel Systems. Communications of the ACM, 45(12): 50-55

Schlueter Langdon, C., and M.J. Shaw. 1997. A Strategic Framework for Developing Electronic Commerce. IEEE Internet Computing, 1(6): 20-28

Yates, J.A., and C.N. Murphy. 2019. Engineering RulesGlobal Standard Setting Since 1880. John Hopkins University Press: Baltimore, Maryland

DATA INTELLIGENCE HUB - Für Geschäftskunden

ERLEBEN, WAS VERBINDET.

Power Shift zu Daten – Die autofreie Autofirma?

Dies ist eine Fortsetzung unserer Geschichte über „Die Service Shift“ in Automotive. Die Meta-Forschung zeigt eine ausgeprägte Verschiebung der Einnahmen auf, weg vom traditionellen Geschäft des Verkaufs von Fahrzeugen oder Hardware und hin zum Verkauf von Mobilitätsdienstleistungen. Es wird vorausgesagt, dass die Verschiebung groß, episch und schnell sein wird. Was bedeutet sie also für etablierte Betreiber (besorgt um Karriere und Gehälter), Investoren (Rendite) und politischen Entscheidungsträger (Beschäftigung)? Dieser Artikel erklärt weiter, wie die „Power Shift“ zu stande gekommen ist. Im heutigen Automobilgeschäft ist das Fahrzeug selbst die Power-Quelle, die es den Autoherstellern oder Originalausrüstungsherstellern, kurz OEMs, ermöglicht, die Kontrolle über Design, Funktionen, Technologie, Zeitpläne, Beschäftigung, Karriere und Rentabilität zu haben.

Die autofreie-Autofirma

Der wichtigste Kanal für Veränderungen ist Chinas regulierte Umstellung von Fahrzeugen mit Verbrennungsmotoren (ICE) auf Fahrzeuge mit neuer Energie (NEV, Absatzziel von 25% bis 2025 laut Chinas Ministerium für Industrie und Informationstechnologie, MIIT). China hat sich zum größten Automarkt der Welt entwickelt, und die NEV-Regulierung hat eine Verlagerung neuer Produkte weg von ICE-Antriebssträngen hin zu batterieelektrischen Fahrzeugen (BEV) ausgelöst. Eine Lawine von BEVs ist in der Pipeline: „Die Zahl der Elektrofahrzeugmodelle, die europäischen Käufern zur Verfügung stehen, wird nach Angaben des Datenunternehmens IHS Markit bis Ende 2020 von weniger als 100 auf 175 steigen. Bis 2025 werden es mehr als 330 sein.“ (Jolly 2019, auch Riley 2019).

Das Problem der traditionellen Automobilhersteller besteht nicht darin, dass Fabriken und Lieferketten umgerüstet werden müssen oder dass es Software-Entwickler statt Maschinenbauer braucht. Das Problem ist, dass das Fahrzeug selbst nicht mehr die Power-Quelle in der Industrie sein wird: egal ob es elektrifiziert, angeschlossen, autonomisiert … oder ob es in Bianco-Eldorado-Weiß oder Trüffel-Glimmer-Grau … oder mit vorhergesagter Musik oder personalisierten Mikroklimazonen geliefert wird. Das Fahrzeug wird nicht länger eine Power-Quelle sein. Warum? Zum einen: Wenn Neueinsteiger wie chinesische Autohersteller sich darauf vorbereiten, Elektrofahrzeuge schneller als ausländische Unternehmen zu bauen, und wenn ein Start-up wie Tesla etablierte Luxusgüterhersteller wie Mercedes-Benz, BMW und Audi übertrifft (Neil 2018), können Fahrzeuge keine Eintrittsbarriere mehr darstellen, und folglich entgleitet ihnen die Power. Um diesen Punkt zu verstärken: Auf der CES 2020 in Las Vegas präsentierte Sony, ein Unternehmen der Unterhaltungselektronik, ein Elektroauto, und Tier-1-Zulieferer wie Bosch & Benteler demonstrierten ein EV-Fahrgestell oder ein „EV-Skateboard“, das anderen als White-Label-Plattform angeboten wurde, um ein Auto darauf zu setzen.

Zum anderen: „Apps & Alexa“ verlagern die Kaufgewohnheiten weg vom traditionellen autozentrischen Marketing & Verkauf hin zu direkteren Wegen der Interaktion mit den Verbrauchern (Crosby & S. Langdon 2017). Diese Verbraucherkanäle sind bereits besetzt, sogar dominiert von mächtigen und kapitalkräftigen Social-Media-Unternehmen wie Google (siehe unseren Kurs MGT 378 Social Media Analytics, Link). Letztendlich wiederholt sich die Geschichte vielleicht nicht genau, aber die Zukunft des Automobils könnte dem Weg des Computers folgen, der sich von der Hardware zur Cloud entwickelt hat – gut vorhergesagt in der bahnbrechenden Analyse von „The Computerless Computer Company“, einem Gewinner des jährlichen McKinsey-Preises für den besten Artikel der Harvard Business Review (Rappaport & Halevi 1991).


Abbildung: Verschiebung der Einnahmen im Autogeschäft zu Dienste und Daten-Power

Von Hardware zu Daten 

Die Power – und damit der Gewinn – verlagert sich vom Fahrzeug auf die Daten. Aktienbewertungen spiegeln bereits den Konsens unter den Anlegern wieder, dass Daten die Autohardware schlagen (siehe Abbildung). Das klingt provozierend – insbesondere und verständlich für die Autoleute – aber es ist weder Magie noch eine Überraschung. Es ist schon einmal passiert, und zwar in vielen Bereichen, nicht nur in der Informatik. Wir haben es schon in Branchen gesehen, die von Zeitungen bis zu Musik reichen (Schlueter Langdon & Shaw 2002, 1997). Die Zeitungen fühlten sich hinter Druckmaschinen und der Last-Mile-Auslieferung gut geschützt, nur um dann von Daten überholt zu werden. Während die papierbasierten Verlage von oben nach unten gingen, entstanden wie Google und Facebook, die die Werbung dominierten.

Der Schlüssel zu dieser Dominanz war nicht die Exzellenz im Schreiben, die Expertise im Erzählen von Geschichten und die redaktionelle Kompetenz; stattdessen ging es darum, Zugang zu Daten zu schaffen (mit Apps, opt -in defaults), das Wissen, um die richtigen Daten zu sammeln (Typen, Skalen, Verhaltensvariablen) und die Kompetenz, die richtigen Dinge zu tun, wie z.B. die Verwendung von Analysen für beschreibende (Trend-Spotting), diagnostische (Segmentierung) und präskriptive Zwecke (personalisierte Empfehlungen).

Im Automobilbereich sind einige schon vor Jahren mit der Einführung neuer Mobilitätsdienste vorangekommen. Mit Car2Go hat Daimler vor einem Jahrzehnt Pionierarbeit im Carsharing geleistet. Diese Dienste werden mit Daten betrieben. Vom Marketing (wer sind meine Kunden, Studenten oder Touristen?), über den Verkauf (nach Fahrt oder Dauer oder Entfernung abrechnen oder ein Abonnement anbieten?) und den Betrieb (wo sollen die Fahrzeuge platziert, Hubs und Ladegeräte hinzugefügt werden?) bis hin zur Wartung (wie kann die Betriebszeit der Fahrzeuge erhöht werden?) – profitabel ist in den Daten (ein beispielhaftes Entscheidungs-Dashboard hier: Link). Getreu seinen automobilen Wurzeln startete Daimler mit seiner eigenen Fahrzeugflotte, dem ikonischen Smart, und anfangs konnten die Smart-Autos nicht mit dem Smartphone eines Kunden sprechen. Die nächste Generation neuer Mobilitätspioniere wie Uber und Lyft übersprang die Fahrzeuge und startete nur mit Datenplattformen.

Daten verstehen 

Die meisten von uns haben in der Schule einen Statistikkurs besucht, aber nur wenige würden sich freiwillig melden, um anderen einen t-Test zu erklären. Bei Daten ist es genau das Gegenteil: Jeder scheint eine Meinung zu haben, doch nur wenige haben eine formelle Ausbildung oder einen Kurs darüber gehabt. Es stellt sich heraus: Daten sind ein kompliziertes Thema. Sogar die Grundlagen sind unklar geblieben, zum Beispiel wie man die Größe der Daten bestimmt. Die Monetarisierung von Daten ist aufregend, aber wie würde jemand Daten bestellen? Ein kg oder Pfund (lb.) Daten, bitte? Gegenwärtig gibt es mehrere konkurrierende Metriken für die Größe von Daten (siehe „Daten: Wie werden sie gemessen?„). Viele werden argumentieren, dass Qualität wichtiger ist als Quantität; doch auch hier hat sich keine klare Metrik herauskristallisiert (siehe „Daten: Qualität oder Quantität?„). Dieser Mangel an Messgrößen ist eine Hürde, während ihre Schaffung eine Quelle für Wettbewerbsvorteile sein könnte. Im Ingenieurwesen zum Beispiel profitierte die deutsche Industrie eindeutig von ihren frühen DIN-Normen (Deutsches Institut für Normung), um Qualitätslücken gegenüber britischen und US-amerikanischen Wettbewerbern zu schließen (Yates & Murphy 2019).

Diese Serie wird mit Erkenntnissen aus der fortgeschrittenen Anwendung der Datenanalyse im Bereich Auto und Mobilität fortgesetzt. Langdon @ Drucker Customer Lab: Link  

 

Referenzen