DATA INTELLIGENCE HUB - For business customers

Erleben, was verbindet.

High Quality Data Optimizes Fleet Usage

Challenge

People want to be mobile. In dense urban areas bicycles are a great way to get from A to B quickly. And in many big cities, you don’t have to own a bike, you can rent one. For this to work, bikes should be where people need them, which creates a big challenge for bicycle rental companies. Because the range of bicycles on offer is limited. For example, the urban infrastructure in Munich only allows a limited number of bike parking slots. On top of that, customers use the service very differently: some move spontaneously, others follow an hourly, daily or weekly routine. And the weather also plays a decisive role in usage and frequency. In sum, bicycle rental providers are facing many decision parameters and therefore require extensive data sets for these.

Solution

The Data Intelligence Hub (DIH) is the simple solution to these problems – with sophisticated analytic tools and access to a wide range of information, such as personal movement or weather data. The Data Intelligence Hub obtains its extensive data sets from many open and commercial data sources.

In case of bicycle rental, there is plenty of high quality data from open sources such as population density and public infrastructure, such as the location of parks, schools and train stations. But often crucial information such as dynamic traffic flow data or the location of the customer at different times of the day is missing. On the Telekom DIH this data is provided by Motionlogic. It helps to work out passenger traffic and movement flows based on mobile network data – of course everything is secure and anonymous. A heat map can be derived from all this data on static infrastructure and real motion flows using the analytics tools of the Data Intelligence Hub.

Switch it on, set up a project, create a workspace, select analytics tools, bring your own data and blend it with curated open and commercial data – all in one place on a Platform-as-a-Service, quickly and effectively – and of course in a secure manner with full control over data access and use.

Benefits

This heatmap has many advantages. On the one hand, important behavior patterns and trends can now be easily identified. On the other hand, a gap analysis is made possible: Where are bicycles missing when? Real bicycle usage data can be uploaded to the Telekom DIH for this purpose and then projected onto the heat map as an additional layer. Now you have a quick overview of where and when bicycles are missing. Management can respond quickly with focused action; and it can even verify the success of the response with the next refresh of the heat map. This is how success stories are quickly created with the Data Intelligence Hub: Switch it on, set up a project, create a workspace, select analytics tools, bring your own data and blend it with curated open and commercial data – all in one place on a Platform-as-a-Service, quickly and effectively – and of course in a secure manner with full control over data access and use.

DATA INTELLIGENCE HUB - Für Geschäftskunden

Erleben, was verbindet.

Flottenauslastung mit Heatmap Analytics

Herausforderung

Menschen wollen mobil sein. Mit Fahrrädern kommen sie bequem von A nach B. Wer keines zur Hand hat, leiht sich ein Rad aus. Fahrradverleiher stehen dabei vor der Herausforderung, ihre Zweiradflotte möglichst flächendeckend anzubieten. Denn das Angebot der Räder ist begrenzt. Die städtische Infrastruktur, wie etwa in München, erlaubt nicht beliebig viele Stelleplätze und auch nicht an jedem Ort. Obendrein nutzen Kunden das Angebot sehr unterschiedlich: Manche bewegen sich spontan, andere folgen einem stündlichen, täglichen oder wöchentlichen Muster. Und auch das Wetter spielt eine entscheidende Rolle für Nutzung und Frequenz. Kurzum: Anbieter von Fahrradverleihen müssen viele Entscheidungsparameter beim Einsatz ihrer Fahrradflotte berücksichtigen und benötigen daher für viele Faktoren umfangreiche Datensätze.

Lösung

Der Telekom Data Intelligence Hub (DIH) ist die einfache Lösung für diese Probleme – mit differenzierten Analysetools und Zugriff auf eine Vielzahl von Informationen, wie zum Beispiel Personenbewegungs- oder Wetterdaten. Die umfangreichen Datensätzen bezieht der DIH aus vielen offenen und kommerziellen Datenquellen.

Im Fall des Fahrradverleihs gibt es viele gute Daten aus offenen Quellen, wie z.B. zur Bevölkerungsdichte und öffentlicher Infrastruktur, wie der Lage von Parkanlagen, Schulen und Bahnhöfen. Aber oft fehlen entscheidende Informationen, wie dynamische Verkehrsflussdaten oder wo sich Kunden zu unterschiedlichen Tageszeiten aufhalten. Auf dem Telekom DIH gibt es hierzu ein Angebot von Motionlogic. Es hilft, Personenverkehrs- und Bewegungsströme herauszuarbeiten, und zwar auf Basis von Mobilfunknetzdaten – und natürlich alles sicher und anonymisiert. Aus all diesen Daten zu statischer Infrastruktur und echten Bewegungsströmen kann mit den Analytics-Werkzeugen des DIHs eine Heatmap abgeleitet werden.

Vorteil

Diese Heatmap hat viele Vorteile. Zum einen können jetzt einfach, wichtige Verhaltensmuster und -trends erkannt werden. Zum anderen ermöglicht es einen Lückenanalyse: Wo fehlen wann Fahrräder? Hierzu können echte Fahrradnutzungsdaten in den Telekom DIH hochgeladen werden, um sie dann als weiteren Layer auf die Heatmap zu projizieren. Jetzt ergibt sich schnell ein Gesamtüberblick, wo und wann Fahrräder fehlen. Management kann gezielt reagieren und sogar den Erfolg der Maßnahmen in der nächsten Iteration der Heatmap ablesen. So entstehen mit dem Telekom DIH schnell Erfolgsgeschichten: Einschalten, Projekt aufsetzen, Arbeitsplatz einrichten, Analytics-Werkzeuge einstellen, eigene Daten mitbringen, und mit offenen und kommerziellen Daten verbinden – alles an einem Platz auf einer Platform-as-a-Service, zeitsparend und zielgerichtet – und natürlich sicher und mit voller Kontrolle über Datenzugang und -nutzung.