DATA INTELLIGENCE HUB - For business customers

LIFE IS FOR SHARING.

Data: How to measure it?

Data monetization is promised to be the next big thing. Analysts and consultants are promising hundreds of billions in revenue (e.g., McKinsey 2016). Her excellence the German Chancellor, Angela Merkel, is addressing the downsidesternly warning German industry to catch up: “If we let this element of value creation be taken out of our hands, then it will be a rude awakening for Germany as an industrial country” (Merkel 2019, link, at 13:17). 

Yet, today, most companies are busy spending money on data – not making money with it. Most companies are spending big bucks on data storagecreating vast data lakesWhy? Because influential academics, such as Michael Porter, say so (Porter & Heppelmann 2015); and your own data scientists are always asking for more data. Yet, if you ask how much more data … then … well … it gets complicated. And this is where data monetarization gets stuck right at the beginning. We don’t even know how to measure data quantities properly. So, we asked leading data experts; and this is what they answered:


Figure: How to measure the size of big data?

Unfortunately, it seems, there is no easy answer, which translates into a big management challenge: How do you manage something that you cannot even measure? Peter Drucker, the father of modern management, had established this management rule many decades ago. With data and data science, we cannot even measure quantities properly. 

 

References 

McKinsey & Company. 2016. Monetizing car data. Advanced Industries Report (September), link
Merkel, A. 2019. Speech at Digital Gipfel (2019-11-29), link
Porter, M. E., and J. E. Heppelmann. 2015. How Smart, Connected Products Are Transforming Companies. Harvard Business Review (October), link
Schlueter Langdon, C.,2018-2019, Survey of data experts in business – not academia, Peter Drucker School, Claremont Graduate University, link

DATA INTELLIGENCE HUB - Für Geschäftskunden

Erleben, was verbindet.

Wie wird die Größe von Big Data überhaupt bestimmt?

Die Monetarisierung von Daten wird eine der größten nächsten Geschäftsmöglichkeiten sein. Analysten und Berater versprechen einen Umsatz von Hunderten von Milliarden (z. B. McKinsey 2016). Ihre Exzellenz, die deutsche Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel, spricht die Herausforderung an und appelliert eindringlich an die deutsche Industrie, aufzuholen: „Wenn wir uns dieses Element der Wertschöpfung aus den Händen nehmen lassen, wird es ein böses Erwachen für Deutschland als Industrieland geben”(Merkel 2019, https://youtu.be/DYlxCYYMBxI?t=635, 13:17). 

Heute sind die meisten Unternehmen noch damit beschäftigt, Geld für Daten auszugeben – nicht Geld mit Daten zu verdienen. Viel wird gerade für die Speicherung von Daten und das befüllen riesiger sogenannter Data Lakes ausgegeben. Warum? Weil einflussreiche Wissenschaftler wie Michael Porter es so vorschlagen (Porter & Heppelmann 2015); und die eigenen Datenanalytiker immer nach mehr Daten fragen. Doch wenn man nachfragt, exakt wie viel mehr an Daten gewünscht werden, dann … nun … dann wird es kompliziert. Und hier bleibt die Monetarisierung von Daten gleich zu Beginn stecken. Wir wissen nicht einmal, wie man Datenmengen richtig misst. 

Also haben wir Datenexperten gefragt und dies sind ihre Antworten:  


Leider scheint es keine einfache Antwort zu geben, was für das Management eine große Herausforderung darstellt: Wie verwaltet man etwas, das nicht gemessen werden kann? Peter Drucker, der Vater des modernen Managements, hatte diese Faustregel oder „Best Practice“ bereits vor vielen Jahrzehnten artikuliert. Bei Daten und in der Datenwissenschaft haben wir das Problem, dass wir noch nicht einmal Mengen richtig vermessen können. 

Referenzen